AWAY AGAIN // Marlo, Australia

I have scheduled this post ahead of time, so by the time it becomes public Chris and I will be away in India! Undoubtedly I will have a million and one photos to share upon my return, but in the mean time I wanted to share a few photos from early November when I took a quick trip to far East Gippsland to visit my Dad at his new home.

Marlo is even further east than Lakes Entrance, where Dad has been living for the past 12 months. Chris and I checked it out last summer as we explored the area. It is a very small town, but located at a very beautiful part of the country.

Despite looking sunny in these photos, it was freezing cold all weekend due to horrible winds. This made being outside quite unpleasant, so I only managed a couple of small walks. Summer trips to visit Dad will be fabulous though, as this town transforms into a busy location for holiday makers coming to the beach.

In the above photo you can vaguely see where the Snowy River meets with the ocean.

The view from Dad’s house is equally as terrible.

All up it takes a bit over five hours to drive to Marlo from Melbourne, making it a bit of a hike. There are a number of places nearby I am hoping to check out during my next visit, such as Buchan Caves.

In completely different news, upon returning from our overseas holiday I will be commencing full time work! Sure, I will have to work around only having four weeks of annual leave a year, but I will have a stable income to invest into travel, as well as having weekends at my leisure to gallivant around the countryside. I am feeling incredibly lucky as to how quickly everything has fallen into place since finishing uni – so watch this space!

– Reanna

Leave a Reply

