PROCRASTINATION // Melbourne, Australia

It actually feels like Winter is finally ending and Spring is just around the corner. The sun was out all weekend, so I found myself making any excuse I could to get outside instead of studying. My two assignments will just write themselves, right?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOn a whim Chris and I decided to spend Sunday afternoon exploring a part of the city we haven’t often been to – Docklands. Honestly, every time I have been around the area it is pretty underwhelming. Harbour Town shopping district is a ghost town, the Sunday market is lifeless, and when I went to the ice rink as a teenager I nearly broke my wrist. The place feels like it had great intentions behind it – it is modern, plenty of restaurants, right by the sea – yet something just went wrong along the way and it feels empty.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This time, however, I actually appreciated it all a bit more. While it was still not exactly booming with the atmosphere and culture for which Melbourne is renowned, I found myself enjoying the beauty of the place.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOur time in Docklands was still short lived, despite our new found appreciation for it. Our walk continued along the Capital City Trail to South Wharf and South Bank, in order to find a bit more atmosphere.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSouth Bank is always such a spectacle to walk along. There is street performers, open restaurants, tourists and locals a like bustling along the Yarra. We stopped off at a couple of bars along our way and relished the sunshine.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSpending the afternoon outside instead of studying led to the rest of the evening also being thrown to the wayside. Inevitably, we ended up at cheap Asian for dinner. The joys of student budgets!

Once again I have to admit my love for being a tourist in my own city. It never ceases to amaze me, and there is still so much more I have yet to see! Any recommendations are always welcomed!

– Reanna.

One thought on “PROCRASTINATION // Melbourne, Australia

  1. ben and i did exactly the same thing a couple of weeks ago, wandered down to, and around docklands. though we were there on a monday night and it was DEAD! most likely because it was the middle of winter and absolutely freezing.
    was good to head down there and have a look though, i hadn’t been there in years!

    always fun to be a tourist in your own town!
    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

