ANOTHER ADVENTURE ENDS // Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

And at last, the end of the journey! It seems I finally reached the end of all my photos from my Asian holiday (and don’t worry, this wasn’t even all of them!). I have enjoyed going back through my photos and reliving my recent escapades, however I must apologise for the lack of detailed and coherent wording in these posts. I have often thrown them together as a side of procrastination to university work. Perhaps I will make it a future goal to develop some better prose for my pictures! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After returning back from Batu Caves and having a break away from the heat, Chris and I walked into the city centre to visit one of KL’s main attractions – the Petronas Twin Towers. We had been tossing up whether or not to go up them – it was a bit on the expensive side – however Chris came across a nearby bar that sounded like it was worth a shot. It turned out to be an absolute winner, as you can see from the views in the above photos! Located in the Traders Hotel, Skybar was perfect for getting a fantastic view of the towers and the surrounding parks. Plus, you could sit and have a beer while admiring your view. The only downside was that the hotels pool was located in the middle of the bar, so it was quite stuffy inside!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Once the humidity of being around an indoor pool became too much, we wandered down through the park and checked out the base of the Petronas Towers, which was yet another massive shopping centre! There was certainly no shortage of them. Below is another of the more famous one, Pavilion. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We had dim sum for dinner, with Chris’ Hong Kong knowledge to guide us, before walking through one of the main street food districts. It was lively and loud, but we enjoyed taking it all in and grabbing some coconut ice cream to share. And yes, that is sweet corn on it! We weren’t too sure about it either.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We had the whole of Sunday in KL, as our flight wasn’t until late at night. After packing up at our hostel we took to walking to some Chinese temples, before heading back to Chinatown to try out our bartering skills.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

My barterting skills proved dismal, but I did manage to score a watch for less than four dollars from a non-haggling shop. We found an indoor market, which was refreshing to walk around in away from the heat. Our explorations took us past one of those fish-eat-the-dead-skin-off-your-feet places, and seeing the cheap price we decided to try it out at a spur of the moment. It was so weird (and ticklish!) so Chris and I were a hilarious, laughing spectacle for the first five minutes. I, ah, guess our feet felt… rejuvinated? Violated? Naked?SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lunch was another Malaysian affair, and I grabbed a quick shoulder massage before we went to our next destination – the town museum. Actually, I don’t think it was much of a museum, but more of an informative quick show about the history of KL which featured a to-scale model of the city. It was interesting to see nonetheless!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We weren’t sure what to do next, but upon walking past the town hall we discovered that a long running musical about the history of KL – ‘Mud’ – was starting in 5 minutes. We ran in, and found ourselves one of 8 people in the audience. I would like to hope it gets busier on the weekends! The show was interesting and entertaining, up until the demanded we all got up and stage to sing and dance with them at the end. Chris and I just about exploded from awkwardness, and made a quick exit as soon as the show finished. Perhaps if there had been more people there it wouldn’t have been so bad!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

In the mood for some cheap shopping, we went back to the shopping centre near our hostel. Unfortunately we didn’t buy anything, but we did check out the theme park.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Yep. A theme park in the shopping centre.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESDinner was local food (satay pictures above) back at the street food precinct, before we made the mission back out to the airport.

I am so grateful that I have been able to visit all these wonderful places in my travels. I think I can know testify that I have caught the ‘travel bug’. As lame as it sounds, it certainly it true! Even before I left Asia Chris and I were already trying to work out where we should travel next. I have certainly gained an appreciation for how wonderful our world and all the diverse cultures within it are.

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

