A CHANGE OF PACE // Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Kuala Lumpur became a destination on my travels because of it’s convenience as a stop over when flying back to Melbourne. Plus, it was where Chris had organised a stop over too – despite all our planning we only ended up having two days together overseas! We would have loved to have stayed longer but the Winter holidays from university were only quite short, so unfortunately we had to return back to reality at home.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Chris arrived in KL the day before I did, plus he had visited the city seven years early on a secondary school trip. As a result, I was more than happy to follow his recommendations about what to do, considering how tired I was! I arrived early in the afternoon, so we still had a bit of time on my first day to walk around.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Unknowingly we had organised our time in KL on the weekend marking the end of Ramadan! This meant there was a few less shops open on the street then normal, but for the most part it didn’t impact us.

Despite me having just spent nearly two weeks in China, one of our first destinations was Chinatown! However it was worth a visit, as it is quite well known for its bartering market.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We had an early dinner before walking back to our hotel for one of the greatest nights sleep of my life.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The next day we caught the train out to Batu Caves, an iconic destination for Hinduism. I absolutely loved the colour and architecture of the place, plus the mix of nature. Before hiking up to the caves we had to stop to refuel with some local sweets. The bright colours caught our eye!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The steps weren’t as strenuous as I thought, the hardest part was having to dodge around people who stopped to take photos (of which I was also a serious offender) and people coming the opposite direction.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

You can’t really tell, but the rockface in the above photo is actually covered in monkeys. Chris stood around laughing at me while I lost my mind over all of them. The monkeys, however, turned out to be quite the pest, coming right down to the tourists and snatching rubbish and water bottles.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

There were a number of temples within the caves themselves.

Oh look, and elusive photo of Chris and I together!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Of course we had to try a fresh coconut. The first photo I took of Chris with the coconut featured him death glaring me, but I managed to catch him off guard the second time around.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A second cave closer to the station was filled with statues and carvings of various Hindu stories. Unfortunately the lighting wasn’t very good so all my photos of it are awful!SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThere were plenty of restaurants nearby, so we indulged our food fantasies at a popular looking vegetarian place. It was full of locals, who skillfully managed to eat their meal – the same as ours – with their hands. Chris and I opted for forks in order to save our dignity!

Believe it or not these posts are finally coming to an end! Only one more day of KL and then I will finally be up to date with holiday photos. Just as well, as uni is getting back into full swing and this is proving to be a wonderful source of procrastination!

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

