THIS COULD TAKE AWHILE // Chengdu, China

Annnnnnd I am back to reality. It has been a whirlwind two weeks away in Asia, filled with so many adventures, experiences, and of course a million photos to go with it. Chris and I touched down in Melbourne yesterday morning, and spent the rest of the day doing washing, eating vegetables and catching up with emails, before heading to bed at an ambitious 8pm. I also began the arduous task of going through all my photos, and I can report that the mission was successful and I managed to cut my collection in half.

As much as I would have loved to have been up to date with my blog while traveling, the reality was I didn’t have time, didn’t have my computer and didn’t have internet access (lookin’ at you China). However, I will catch up with all my adventures on here over the next few weeks. First off, Chengdu! I landed in the capital of Sichuan early on a Sunday morning after a ten hour flight from Melbourne.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter a quick stop off at Hamza’s flat (he is lucky enough to be completing a two month internship in Chnegdu!) I headed into the city centre to check out Tianfu Square and Mao’s statue. Don’t let the clouds fool you, it was well over 30 degrees and humid!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESNext I wandered down to People’s Park, which was a wonderful public garden in the city centre. It was bustling with plenty of other tourists and locals alike. I should point out here that most of the tourists I encountered were domestic tourists. I was definitely a minority!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESLanguage proved to be a difficult issue. Very few restaurants had English, which resulted in me often eating my meals at my hostel (which luckily served an abundance of cheap, local food!). So after lunch there and a quick rest from the heat, I went for a walk along the river.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI headed to bed pretty early the first night, and was up reasonably early the next day. I decided to walk a few kilometres across town to Wenshu Monastery. It was my first visit to a Buddhist temple, and it was absolutely beautiful. A few hours quickly flew by as I explored the halls (I couldn’t take photos inside, but they were perfectly adorned and filled with gold statues) and gardens.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe ponds in the gardens were surrounded by hundreds of baby turtles, so naturally I spend far too much time taking photos of them.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfterwards I wandered out to the folk area nearby the temple. It was quite touristy, but I enjoyed looking at all the trinkets on sale and local food on offer.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI had a bit of time left before the vegetarian buffet at the temple opened at the temple (it was amazing) so I also visited a nunnery close by.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESMy explorations in the heat also required a quick break, so I ventured into a local tea house. $2 for a refillable cup of tea? Yes please.

I have a ridiculous amount of photos to share, so I will be back over the coming weeks to chronicle the rest of my adventures!

– Reanna

Leave a Reply

