WHERE YOU WILL FIND ME // Melbourne, Australia

After another week of cold and dreary weather, Melbourne delivered this weekend with sunshine and blue skies, and boy was I excited about it. While not necessarily warm, it was nice to be outside and feel the sun on my face and not have to tramp around with my umbrella in tow. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESDespite being a Sunday I spent a bit of time at university today. A) because I had to use the computers in the library in order to use a particular statistics program, and B) I had nothing better to do. Plus being a ten minute (maximum) bike ride away from uni makes popping in not much of an issue.

I had also been endeavouring to take some snaps around campus, and today was perfect for it. Not only was the sun out, but campus is substantially quieter on a Sunday. However, as luck would have it there were a number of pro photographers about with fancy cameras, so I was pretty quick in whipping out my little camera for a sneaky photo before power walking away in shame.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis is the view back over University Square to the Law building and the other faculties south of the main Parkville campus. You can see the city popping up on the left – that’s how close we are to the CBD!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis laneway is normally crowded with people lining up to get coffee from House of Cards, a little cafe that opens up out of that little wooden hut. They definitely have my vote as one of the best brews on campus.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAs with the rest of Melbourne, uni has a great deal of contrasting architecture. I love all the old buildings in particular, though I have to admit the new Melbourne School of Design is pretty cool (despite the construction having infringed on by missions across campus for the previous two years!).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESHere is one side of the crazy modern Melbourne School of Design. I didn’t go inside today, but it is as equally crazy in there – check out a post Daph did over on Unimelb Adventures last year for a peek at the floating rooms! The building is certainly a stark contrast to the old and uninspiring Redmond Barry, where all my psychology classes are. You can see it below.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis is the front of the Melbourne School of Design – they went all trendy and kept the original facade.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOld Quad (above) probably takes the cake as the prettiest building on campus. It basically is Hogwarts. I intended to take more photos of it but a young couple were apparently having a professional portrait session there, which I walked right into the middle of. Awkward, you could say.

Below is South Lawn, which you would normally find normally find covered with students during the week when the sun is out. Study, or sunbaking? Sunbaking always wins.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI have barely touched the surface of the beauty of the University of Melbourne in these photos. It is such a huge campus (and it is only one of the campuses – I haven’t been to the smaller off site campuses!), but I love walking around and taking it all in. There are a few spots I didn’t make it to today, such as the 1888 Building, System Garden, and the South Lawn car park (that was apparently in Mad Max). Admittedly it was the look of the uni that stuck with me and was my initial influence to come here!

– Reanna.

2 thoughts on “WHERE YOU WILL FIND ME // Melbourne, Australia

Leave a Reply

