KIWI THROWBACK PART 1 // Auckland & Waiheke Island, New Zealand

I don’t know whether it was procrastination or a legitimate desire, but this evening I felt compelled to track down my photos from a trip Chris and I took to New Zealand back in July 2013. I was under the impression I had maybe 10, or 20 photos. Turns out it was closer to 100, so this throwback post will be spread out over two posts!IMG_1236

IMG_1240

This was my first trip overseas – though New Zealand hardly counts for us Aussies, we get to go through the same passport control as the locals! – so I was all about passport and lame tourist photos. Chris and I had planned this trip largely last minute. We went away for slightly over a week, and were on a major budget. Subsequently, our travels were limited to Auckland, Waiheke Island and Rotorua. However, we still had a great time!IMG_1242

IMG_1245

Auckland itself was quite similar to Melbourne, other than the novelty of Woolies being called Countdown and everyone’s fantastic accents. IMG_1252

IMG_1253

IMG_1257

While in Auckland we kept things pretty chilled out, taking the ferry across the harbor to hike up a hill on the other side, wandering around the docks, and checking out a few backpacker bars (we got sucked in by the guy who came by our hostel every night spruiking about great drink specials).IMG_1261

IMG_1271

We took another ferry out to Waikeke Island, a small island not far off the coast. We had heard about it being revered for it’s wine, so we thought it would be worth checking out. We only stayed one night – there was a lack of cheap accommodation – but managed to squeeze in a lot while we were there.

IMG_1273

IMG_1277

Despite this gloomy looking weather we actually had a great day. We hired a couple of bikes and took ourselves on a self guided tour of some of the local wineries and breweries.IMG_1278

IMG_1279

Oh my god, who are these young people?!IMG_1286

IMG_1293

IMG_1294Despite the masses of hills and my obvious lack of fitness, it was a great way to explore the island. The next day we jumped back on the ferry to Auckland.

I will be back shortly with the rest of the New Zealand photos I rustled up! It is kind of fun reminicsing over times that have passed. Before I know it I am sure Europe will be a far distant memory as well!

– Reanna

Leave a Reply

