THE YEAR THAT WAS // Prague, Czech Republic

Warning: philosophical musings about my life ahead.

I know we are now a week into the new year, but as I mentioned the other day I felt like this past year deserved a bit more reflection than some fuzzy photos of fireworks and a few tired words thrown together. I have also thrown in a few photos from the start of the year in Melbourne for good measure! I think it is safe to say I am feeling a bit nostalgic.IMG_2532

IMG_2751

I don’t want to spend too long mulling over all my feelings about the year 2014, but I would have to say that it has probably been one of the greatest years of my short life to date. Sure, it has had its share of ups and downs, but it has been a year of so many experiences I could have only imagine, a year of growth, and a year that has seen the development of a better outlook on the future for me. The start of the year was hard at times, due to the long hot summer and lack of fulfillment over the long university break. But once the semester started up, everything fell into place. Chris and I had such an amazing time celebrating our 21st birthdays with family, friends, and each other. First semester was crazily busy, but Chris and I both thrived under the conditions. We both studied hard, worked and saved a lot of money, and participated in numerous volunteering roles. Exchange also became a definite reality as we were accepted into our respective institutions and bought flights. We also began to really find our feet in Melbourne, as we discovered the joys of riding our bikes everywhere, spontaneous date nights, Lentil as Anything (far to frequently most likely) and breakfast out on Centrelink day.IMG_3115

I also began to feel more certain about what I want to do once I finish my Bachelor of Arts. I finish at the end of this year, and that is coming around far too quickly! My initial idea of pursuing law fell on the back burner, but I have become enthused about the idea of completing a year of honours in either Psychology or Criminology, and applying to do a PHD in an area that combines the two. I would also love to incorporate my new found passion for women’s rights into my research. Following such a path would see me work in either a research institution or continue onto academia at university. It is so empowering to actually have a more solid idea about what I want to do!

Everything moved along very quickly at the end of the semester, as we packed up our life in Melbourne and shifted everything back to our hometown and hung out with our families in the month before we left for exchange. You know the rest of the story from there. Exchange isn’t over yet (you can expect another some more philosophical dribble once it is!), but the whole experience of being in Europe has certainly sparked a feeling of wanderlust in both myself and Chris. Travel is definitely something we see becoming a more prominent part of our future. Who knows, maybe we will even return to Europe to work (or study, because lets be honest I will probably be at university forever!).IMG_3273

I am so excited for this coming month, as I pack up my life here in Prague and spend my remaining two weeks in Europe traveling with Chris, and finally return back to Australia. We have been on the hunt for apartments back in Melbourne, and it is all far too exciting! I am not really one for new years resolutions, but I do have some ideas about what I want to achieve this year and I am so excited for all that is to come!

All the best for the coming year.

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

