OVERSEAS DAY TRIPS // Malmo, Sweden

It never ceases to amaze me how diverse Europe is, it’s size in comparison to Australia. I have travelled to more countries than I ever have in my whole life in the past three months alone! I visited Chris in Copenhagen this past weekend, and when Chris had to head into uni for class on Friday, he suggested I catch a train over to Malmo, Sweden. Just some casual country hopping for you Friday afternoon.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESTo get to Malmo from Copenhagen, one merely has to jump on a train that goes along a seven kilometre long bridge over the ocean separating them. It was pretty cool, and reminded me that I hadn’t even seen the ocean for ages, with the Czech Republic being a landlocked country and all! It was an absolutely freezing day, and as you can see the sun was not in sight.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter some lunch I walked around the old centre of the city, and went into the Form/Design Centre to check out a free exhibit. Everything was unfortunately in Swedish, but it was interesting none the less.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI was desperate to not spend my day walking around in the cold, so I decided to check out the Malmo Castle. The castle – which looks quite bleak in comparison to some of the castles I have seen in Europe – also houses a museum.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThere was quite an interesting range of exhibits to look at, ranging from photos of frogs, the history of various conflicts between Denmark and Sweden, life in Malmo in 1914, to children’s toys. I found the exhibit on children’s toys particularly interesting, as it fell towards my interests in psychology.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOne could also walk around some of the older rooms of the castle that had been stylised as they would have been back in the day. Most of the furniture was still original from the 1600-1700s.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis bed looked particularly warm and cosy.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI braved going back out in the cold to walk over to Malmo’s iconic Turning Torso – the tower you can see below. It was situated in a pretty cool residential looking area. It felt somewhat strange for me to be near so much modern infrastructure, as it is nothing like the old feel of Prague.

And yes, it is dark even though I was here at 3:30pm.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESUpon returning back to Denmark, Chris and I indulged in traditional Danish Christmas beer and made some Danish food for dinner. I have no idea what it was called, but the main dish was similar to shepherds pie, and the salad had Danish blue cheese in it. Delicious all round.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESChristmas beer and decorations popping up all over Europe are starting to get me excited for the coming months. It is the first day of December here today, so i might try hunt down a little Christmas tree! Hope you are all getting geared up for a hot summer holiday in Australia!

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

