NOTE TO SELF: BUY THERMALS // Prague, Czech Republic

Fall (or Autumn, I am not sure what they call it here!) seems to have come and gone rather quickly. One day I was admiring all the shades of yellow and orange adorning the scenery, and now there are next to no leaves left on the trees at all. At one point I thought perhaps there had been a bushfire in part of forest I saw from from a distance on account of all the black trees, only to realise that they were merely bare. And that bush fires are an Australian thing. Duh.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis has also been accompanied by an even further drop in temperature, which is taking me awhile to get my head around. I think I am getting there though, as I now always leave the house with a scarf, beanie and gloves. The cold weather hasn’t stopped me from wanting to explore the countryside more, especially since I stumbled across this great post about various day hikes in and around Prague.

On Thursday afternoon I took a tram to the other side of the Vlatva river from my neighbourhood to check out a hike within the city itself. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was great! One minute I was walking in the city, the next I felt like I was alone in the countryside, and then when I finished I was still within the outskirts of the city. I even stumbled across a beautiful looking lake, but the swans you can see below hissed at me when I came to close. Can swans even hiss? I don’t know, but they definitely didn’t want me coming any closer than I did.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThere were plenty of playgrounds along the first part of the walk. The above hill also seemed to have some kind of lookout on the top of it. Considering it was across a creek and up a rock face, I decided to leave that one for another day.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe walk also lead me past a few run down old factories. It would be fascinating to know what they once were, and what happened to them.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESToday I embarked on another solo hike, this time on the outskirts of Prague. Given my previous two hikes have been successful with little to no planning, I thought I would be able to follow my directions (curtesy of the internet) fine. But instead I managed to miss the first part of my walk, though thankfully I rejoined the trail I intended to follow at these below statues.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThank god for obvious landmarks.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis hike lead me from the town of Čelákovice to Lysá nad Labem, and ended up being about 10 or so kilometres. Probably a bit more with all the backtracking and hopeless wandering I did. There wasn’t as much beautiful scenery as my previous walks, but Lysá and Labem had the above old monastery and gardens to look around. I thought the monastery was just old and an attraction, but was surprised to see lights on inside and people smoking out a window – turns out it is a nursing home!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAppart from being more organised with my directions, something else I also need to take on board with my hiking now is buying thermals! I thought I would be fine with what I was wearing today, but considering  the weather didn’t get much higher than 6 degrees, I was freezing by the end of the day. Nevertheless, I am thoroughly enjoying this Czech past time!

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

