WEEKEND GETAWAY PART 2 // Milan, Italy

After our day of wandering around Geneva, we headed to the train station to head off to Milan. Organising transport between these two cities was honestly the biggest nightmare. There was next to nothing available, and when I did finally find this train it cost a ridiculous amount to catch. And it was four hours. And when I didn’t think things could get worse, the ticket inspector told me my receipt for the ticket on my phone couldn’t be accepted, as I was meant to have printed out the ticket at a station in Italy. He was about to make us buy new tickets, but I refused, and in classic me style started crying. I think sympathy won over and they let us off, with a warning.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter eventually arriving out our AirBNB at midnight, and a much needed night of sleep, we were treated to a freshly made breakfast by our wonderful hosts. They also sent us off on our day with a map and a variety of sights to see highlighted. We walked past the church housing the Last Supper (Da Vinci), but our hosts has told us viewing was booked out until December. Sheesh.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOur next stop was Sforza Castle. Despite being beautiful, my highlight was probably seeing all the stray cats in the moat. Initially we saw one, then another one, and then they were just everywhere.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWe has no ambitions of running around the city, so we strolled through a park before sitting down for a coffee. Coffee was so ridiculously cheap, so we were far too excited. There are no lattes here though. If you order a latte, you will just get milk – turns out it is the Italian word for it!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe main attraction of Milan is Europe’s third biggest church, the Duomo. The square was bustling with tourists, and people trying to sell you bracelets and scarves. You have to have your bag checked in order to enter, and an official of the church also took one look at my uncovered legs and said I couldn’t go in. After a bit of angry eye rolling on my behalf, it was negotiated I could enter by fashioning a longer skirt by tying Chris and my cardigans around my waist. Needless to say, the atheist and feminist in me was fuming.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESIt was magnificent inside, but for some reason all my photos were blurred. So enjoy one of the floor.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESLunch time saw us hunting for Italian pasta. We found a little restaurant and sat down, ready to indulge in our carbs. And cheese. It was delicious, to say the least.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSo. Good.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe back streets of Milan were a maze of beautiful lane ways lined with the designer shops that give the city it’s reputation as a fashion capital. The above gallery was also bursting with Louis Vuitton and Gucci.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESFor dinner we followed our host’s advice and headed down to the canals. The canals were actually empty for cleaning (there is some expo happening in town next year) so they weren’t exactly picturesque. A friend of mine in Prague had informed me about Milan’s “happy hour”, which means buying a drink and indulging in an all-you-can eat buffet. This fit the bill perfectly. We ended up opting for a special deal where Chris and I got to share this ridiculous cocktail bowl with our dinner. Yes, the passionfruit is on fire.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWe spent the remainder of the night chatting and having a few drinks, while trying to ignore the street sellers approaching us constantly to buy roses or other worthless knick knacks.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe next day we made our way back into the city and visited an art gallery near Duomo. I am never sure whether you can take photos in galleries or not, so I kept it safe and only snapped this photo of the stairwell. The building itself was magnificent, sometimes even putting the art to shame.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWe still had yet to fulfil all our Italian food criteria, so we hunted down a pizzeria for lunch. It was, of course, delicious, as well as being completely different to your old Mr Pizza back home. Despite our bodies desperately crying for a bowl of spinach, we persevered for our last food goal: gelato. We chose raspberry, coconut and pistachio, and they were good choices.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThen it was time for me to head off the airport. My poor decision to go for a budget airline saw me catching a bus an hour out of the city to even get to the airport. But, somehow I made it home in one piece.

It was such a great weekend, and I had so much fun exploring new cities with Chris. It almost changes the entire experience of travelling when you are with someone else. As good as it was travelling by myself at the start of my trip, I think I enjoy having someone to share some of my experiences with.

– Reanna.

One thought on “WEEKEND GETAWAY PART 2 // Milan, Italy

Leave a Reply

