UNAVENÝ // Prague, Czech Republic

It is taking me a bit of time to get used to not having an action packed schedule in my day to day life. Last semester at university I was ridiculously busy with full time study, work, multiple volunteering commitments and the general upkeep of living out of home. Travelling around Europe for the first few weeks also saw me wake up everyday and try to see of much of a city as I possibly could in the short time I was there. Now that I am settling down here in Prague things have certainly slowed down, which is proving a difficult thing for me to get my head around. I feel lost waking up and not having anything planned for my day. I just have to keep telling myself university will pick up soon! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThese first few snaps are from yesterday, as I aimlessly wandered some of the side streets in the city centre. Afterwards, I met up with some friends for dinner and a couple of drinks. Well, that was the initial plan, before I ended up getting home at god knows when in the morning. Needless to say, that is why the name of todays post is the Czech word for tired! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESToday the sun was out, and after a (very) slow morning I took myself back into the city centre for the afternoon. The above building is the main building of my faculty here at university, the Faculty of Arts. I don’t actually have any classes in this building as of yet! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESLocated across the square from my university building is the Rudolfinum, a concert hall of some sorts. Both of these beautiful buildings are a stones throw away from the river, and have a wonderful view of Prague Castle! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI headed over to the Jewish Quarter, which I have been intending to go to for quiet awhile. I actually tried to go yesterday, but I found it closed. Apparently the fact that it was a Saturday, and Jews respect “sabbath” completely slipped my mind! SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI couldn’t take photos in a lot of the buildings as a mark of respect, but I was able to get a few shots when I was wandering through the old Jewish Cemetery. I can’t remember how old it is, but it hasn’t been used for over 200 years. It was oddly beautiful in an eerie sort of way. The ground was uneven, and the gravestones were all piled against each other. Apparently the cemetery was an inspiration for the Holocaust Memorial I saw in Berlin. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe ticket I bought for the Jewish Quarter granted me entrance to several synagogues that now serve as museums informing visitors about the Jewish religion. It was quite information heavy, so I found myself skimming over a lot of it. However, it was nonetheless interesting. Jewish religion is not something I know a great deal about, despite their prominence in history. I am always shocked at how all consuming in everyday life religion is in some cultures. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOn my way to one of the synagogues I passed the statue of Franz Kafka. I have no idea what is going on here, but I am sure it is deeply metaphorical in some sense, as Kafka’s work was. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI began taking pictures in the Spanish Synagogue before noticing the no camera sign. This building was beautiful, as every surface was painted. It was quite a strange experience being in a space with some much colour and detail going on. SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAnd now, I am well and truly ready for bed! I hope all is well in Aussie-land, I head the weather is warming up, while it is going the other way here! – Reanna.

Leave a Reply

