CURRENTLY // Prague, Czech Republic

Despite the continuing chaos and uncertainty that is class registration at Charles University, I am beginning to feel a bit more settled here in Prague. Routine looks like it might be on the verge of setting in (well, at least within the next week or so when I finally confirm my subjects) and I am starting to become a bit more content with everything. So I thought now might be another good time to check in with how I am coping with the (temporary) expat life, with a few photos from a Sandemans New Europe walking tour I went on yesterday.

Housing: As I have previously mentioned, I think I am going to stay here in Hvězda, despite my initial angst. Yes, I get woken up by people coming home from partying at 5am, I have to carry two full green bags to the kitchen every time I want to cook, but I have met a few people, I still don’t have a room mate, and I joined a nearby gym ($90 for three months, once again two thumbs up to Prague’s cheapness). If I do end up getting a room mate, that will be the tipping point for me moving out. Sure, they could be wonderful and nice, but I really don’t want to share a room with someone for the next four months.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESUniversity: I am still trying to work everything out, but I think I am finally reaching the end of the trial this has been. I am taking six classes, which should roughly equate to me taking four classes at UniMelb. I have attached a photo of my study plan here below (I don’t know why it’s so blurry, but if you click on it the image will open in a new window and can be seen clearly!). I have only started three of my classes so far, and they have all been interesting. The Czech language course is going to be tough, but I am looking forward to it! I’ll do a more in-depth post about Czech language soon.

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 4.08.11 pm

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe city: Prague is so beautiful. Sometimes I have been so caught up in the stress I am creating for myself about university registration that I forgot to stop and appreciate the beauty of this city, and remember the fact that I actually get to live here until next year. Wandering around the amazing cobbled streets of the old city centre on the tour yesterday helped me to realise that.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES(The Astronomical Clock, also known as one of the most boring and disappointing tourist attractions in the world)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES(That’s my uni! Well, one of the many buildings of it doted around the city. It is one of the oldest in Europe.)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES#Feelings: For the most part, I have been feeling really good about everything. Admittedly, I have a few bad moments where my patience with the university lapsed (see: meltdown on Skype to Chris involving a variety of profanities describing uni bureaucracy). Overall however, I have been enjoying myself! I have made a few good friends, and Skype has been invaluable in keeping me in contact with loved ones back in Australia. Despite missing Chris a lot, we have also been dealing well with spending so much time away from each other. I think we clocked up over four weeks apart before the weekend just gone, which is the longest we have been away from each other for the three and a half years we have been together!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAnd that’s all I can think of for now! I am starting to feel a bit more settled here now, to the point where I don’t need to take a map with me everywhere! Though I must admit, Google maps usually pops up a few times a week.

Last night also saw me venture out for my first night on the town here in Prague! I know, I was shocked too. I slept in until 9am this morning, which I think I have done about twice in my life. So wild. But enjoy some random photos as proof that I have a social life.

1922294_10152532252288853_1512779797391060969_nHave I mentioned how cheap beer is here in Prague? I am never going to be able to drink out again when I am back in Melbourne, with my new found knowledge of what it is like in Prague.

1656168_10205773407320783_2183643939177075613_n“But first, let me take a selfie”.

Yeah, I can’t believe I just quoted that song either.

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

