TEETHING ISSUES // Prague, Czech Republic

So after all this time, I am finally commencing my first week of university here in Prague. Though I use the word ‘commencing’ lightly; perhaps “falling down a cliff face and hitting every major rock on the way down” would be a more accurate description for the beginning of the semester. I seem to be facing nothing but challenges from this university. Class registration for my faculty opened on Monday, and with it came the discovery that I couldn’t get into some of the classes I wanted.

But I won’t bore you with my woes – I am trying to keep myself upbeat about it by reminding myself that a majority of other exchange students are experiencing similar issues. Let’s hope things get better after these first few weeks!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI took these photos on Tuesday, as I ventured out for a day of solo exploration inspired by a walk outlined in my Lonely Planet guide. I started my walk at the Summer Palace, which is located in the Royal Gardens behind the Prague Castle.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESTourists everywhere, man.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESTrying to be all “fancy”. I feel like I am one of the only tourists who isn’t lugging around a five thousand dollar SLR camera. Point-and-shoot for life!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESApparently this building was used by the royals to play some archaic version of badminton.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis path is the “moat” that separates the Royal Gardens from the Prague Castle. I was the only person walking along there, and it was oddly beautiful and quiet.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESNext I trooped along to the Letná Gardens, where I was treated to yet more views of the city. You can’t really tell from the above photo, but it is Charles Bridge, which as usual is swarming with tourists.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe gardens also featured this giant metronome (unfortunately not functioning, I wonder if it ever does?). It sits on the former location of a giant statue of Stalin.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESMy mission to capture of photo of a squirrel is evidently still not going well. They won’t stay still! My friend also informed me that Prague is full of hedgehogs, so they are my newest obsession. I saw my first one the other day. Dead. In the gutter. So lets hope I see a live one soon!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESMy tour talk me up a busy street (not photo worthy) where I chanced upon an op-shop, which was wonderful. I scored myself a giant mug and a folder for uni, and resisted looking at the clothes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI ended my day at Stromovka, the former royal hunting ground. And yes, that is another palace. These royals sure didn’t hold back!

– Reanna.

 

Leave a Reply

