JUST YOUR AVERAGE MEDIEVAL TORTURE CHAMBER // Prague, Czech Republic

I am still pinching myself when I wake up every day that this city is now actually my home! Though it is a bit hard to feel at home when I still don’t have a decent place to live!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESYesterday I returned to Prague Castle to view the rest of buildings I didn’t see yesterday. Once again the weather was fantastic, resulting in flocks of tourists.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESIn many of the buildings a permit is required to take photos. I was too lazy/cheap to buy a permit, but was able to grab a few sneaky shots when no staff members were around, such as in the painted room above.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESMy favourite part of the castle was Golden Lane, which is situated near the castle wall. The lane way consists of a row of rather small houses, which used to house gate keepers and gold smiths, before later being used by various occupants, including artists, a fortune teller, and an eccentric film maker.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe lane also lead up to a tower which housed a fantastic collection of medieval artefacts. There were numerous suits of armour dating from the 1400s, and every conceivable medieval weapon you could imagine.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAnd, of course, a torture chamber.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe houses themselves have been restyled in the fashion they would have been in when occupied by people of various trades, while others housed little shops selling touristy things. As you can see, there wasn’t a lot of room. You usually had to duck to enter!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe famous author Franz Kakfa lived for a while in house number 22. I haven’t worked out what was so good about him yet, as I read his book “The Trial” and found it less than riveting.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI then headed down to another tower for some more medieval torture. This tower used to house the prison.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESYeah, people were put in that cage.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThen it was time for churches. This is St George’s Basicalla. I didn’t catch how old it was, but judging by the faded paint in various parts of the building, I’d say it was fairly ancient.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESPoor St George’s Basicalla has nothing on the overshadowing St Vitus’ Cathedral. This massive church was by far the centrepiece of the castle. I am glad I waited until later in the day to check it out, as there were lines when I went past at midday!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThese elaborate churches have made me see why religion was such a powerful influence back in older times. The over the top beauty of these places give them a sense of power not to be meddled with.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI should keep a tally of how many photos of church organs I have taken on this trip.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESTourist life. I did spend about ten minutes trying to perfect a selfie (it did not work) before giving up, but I later did a photo taking trade with another tourist. Unfortunately for the other guy, his camera was some ridiculously fancy SLR, which I had no idea how to use, so I spend quite a few awkward minutes trying to work out what to do. I think I’ll stick with my little point-and-shoot camera for now!

– Reanna.

 

Leave a Reply

