IT IS A FAIRYTALE // Prague, Czech Republic

I’m still pinching myself that after all this time of saying that I am going to Prague, I am finally here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI arrived late-ish on Monday night, but I still made a little expedition of walking down to Charles Bridge. This photo shows Prague Castle looming up on the other bank of the river.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESYesterday morning I was able to get a better look of the city with the sun out. I was surprised at how many tourists there were! They are all waiting for the hourly display by the Astronomical Clock. I haven’t seen it yet, but I am sure I will. It’s weird trying to get myself in a different mentality of  not rushing around trying to see everything in one day like a normally do, but rather take my time. I have five months to see things!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis is the entrance to Charles Bridge. Nothing short of spectacular.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESTourists EVERYWHERE.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESEvery time I told someone that I was coming to Prague, the response 100% of the time was “it is a beautiful city”. I can see why everyone said that now!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI walked up to Prague Castle, which was also milling with tourists. It was quite a hill to get up there! Something different to the flat lands of Germany, that’s for sure.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI bought a ticket that allowed me to go into most of the buildings in the complex. It lasts for two days, so I only checked out the main castle yesterday, and I will head back up today.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThey have been able to preserve a phenomenal amount of things in the castle. I went to an exhibit underneath the castle which outlined the history of the place, and they had things dating back the 900s.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESRegal. After grabbing some lunch I headed out to Hvezda dorm, where I have been allocated a room for the semester. I had emailed them several times about moving in early, but received no response. Every review of exchange in Prague has mentioned how poor this dorm was, so I didn’t have high expectations. This was made worse by the fact that out of the five staff members I encountered there, only one spoke English, and even then it was at a low level. I managed to sort everything out, and I have my room but I won’t move in until tomorrow. I went and checked it out anyway…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESYup, I have to share with someone (they have yet to arrive) in this tiny room. This isn’t the worst of it though: the kitchen has nothing in it, besides a few hotplates, so you have to bring all your pans and what-not yourself. And the bathroom… oh my god. You know those big tiled rooms with shower heads in them they have in footy training rooms? Yeah. That. And it’s unisex.

So yeah, I am moving out as soon as humanely possible.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter recovering from the horror of the dorm I went back into the city to wander around a bit more. I accidentally discovered the joy of cheap clothes shopping, then went and got some dinner. A traditional Czech affair, for about $7. Soooo cheap. I was beef with a creamy vegetable sauce, bread dumpling, and what tasted like cream and jam on top. It was different, oddly sweet, but good.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI then went on a beer tour, as beer is an important part of life here in Prague! It was fun, but could have been a bit more informative.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESFermenting beer at a microbrewery.

Today I am going to check out the castle some more, and try and organise a few other things such as a phone plan and what not.

– Reanna.

 

2 thoughts on “IT IS A FAIRYTALE // Prague, Czech Republic

Leave a Reply

