PEOPLE HERE ARE CALLED HAMBURGERS // Hamburg, Germany

I have been lucky enough to spend my time in Hamburg with a friend, who has just returned from travelling around Australia, Asia and New Zealand for a year. Nothing like having a local to show you around!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESIt was a pretty bleak old day, but the rain held off enough for us to wander around the harbour in the morning. I was quite surprised that there was harbour here, as Hamburg is not on the coast! But a large river runs to the city, which cargo ships can travel down into the massive docks.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWe headed down to the edge of the river, and caught a ferry down to the local beach.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI saw a submarine in the shallows. I have no idea if it is actually functional or not, but it was totally cool anyway.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe docking area was huge! I didn’t manage to see any of the enormous cargo ships, but I can imagine how huge they would be from the sheer size of this place.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe beach was pretty empty, considering todays conditions.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter lunch we went into the city and had a quick look around before jumping on a double decker bus for a sightseeing tour of the city. I was so tired, so I was struggling to keep my eyes open!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe sun actually came out, which was not helping me stay awake!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe remainder of our day was pretty cruisy, but I was so grateful to have my friend show me around her city. She even learnt something too on our bus tour! It never hurts to be a tourist in your own city.

– Reanna.

Leave a Reply

