ON THE RIVER // Rhine Valley, Germany

Having explored the city of Frankfurt, yesterday I decided to venture out into the countryside. I’d heard good things about the nearby Rhine River, so I booked a bus tour to see what it was all about. Our destination was a section of the Rhine River that is UNESCO listed boasting a ridiculous amount of castles and quaint villages. You know those ads you see on TV for luxury European river cruises? Amazing views of perfect looking rivers? Yeah, they go here.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Trying to keep cool about seeing a deer. Chris told me he saw a squirrel in Copenhagen the other day, so I’m on the lookout.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Our first stop was in a small town on the banks of the Rhine. Our bus took us to the top of a hill, where we could chose to go on an optional chair lift ride back down into the village. My over anxious self was a bit apprehensive, but I decided to give it a shot anyway.

I almost died when I saw how rickety the chair lift looked, but I held myself together and got on anyway. It was absolutely worth it, the views were spectacular.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The village we alighted in was also picture perfect. Cobblestoned streets, beautiful houses, and it was quiet. It’s nice to get away from the calamity of main tourist attractions sometimes.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lunch was at an odd little restaurant overlooking the Rhine. It was furnished with nautical and vineyard themes objects, making it rather overcrowded and dark. A trip to the bathroom also revealed novelty toilet seats (mine had a clock in it) and more decorations. I ordered an ‘ice wine’ with my lunch, a speciality of the region made of frozen grapes. I later regretted in when I received the bill; apparently it is an expensive wine for special occasions!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After lunch we hopped onto a boat for a cruise down the river itself. Words cannot describe how amazing it was. The weather was perfect, there were beautiful castles everywhere, and I couldn’t decide which little village I wanted to be my future home.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe infamous Loreley rock (I think). Legend has it a siren would stand atop the rock and sing a song, causing boats to crash into low lying rocks on the other side.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Afterwards we returned to the restaurant where we had lunch for the most disappointing wine tasting of my life (the wine was served in plastic shot glasses with the tour guide providing limited information). Then it was onto a bustling tourist village for a quick explore.

Upon returning to Frankfurt I was tossing up between returning to my hostel or going to check out the opening night of the Museum Festival (Frankfurt has something like 32 museums). However, I opted to chill out at the hostel. Today, I have just arrived in Luxembourg city for a new set of adventures!

– Reanna.

3 thoughts on “ON THE RIVER // Rhine Valley, Germany

  1. Glad to see you are finding all these fabulous things to do. The ride up the hill looked fantastic, its beautiful over there. Your doing a great job, I am loving it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

