OLD & NEW // Frankfurt, Germany

While nowhere near as grand and beautiful as beloved Munich, Frankfurt still retains a rich history and old architecture. This is in contrast to the new high-rises that loom behind these older buildings. It’s a bizarre, yet interesting sight.

I spent the majority of my day on a walking tour of the city by Frankfurt on Foot. The tour is a bargain at 12 euro (9 if you stay at the right backpackers like I did!) and went for over four hours. However, I strongly regretted my choice of wearing sandals halfway in.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOnly the second largest organ I have ever seen.

This cathedral has been around for hundreds of years, and had endured height changes, bombings, and changes of ownership.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This street shows an eclectic mix of architecture (including that orange building, that is designed upside down) in light of more traditional building styles of Germany.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThere was quite a strong recognition of the travesties suffered by the Jewish population in the city. These plaques are just a few of thousands that appear in not only Frankfurt, but cities all over the country. They bare the name of a Jewish individual who lived there, when they were taken, and when they died.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis plaque in the middle of the Romer (main square) represents the burning of books by the Nazi regime.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis house is very traditional of old Frankfurt, being made half of wood.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

An example of the contrasting architecture in Frankfurt. It was quite strange to see!

We stopped a an indoor market for lunch. The market itself is not much of a tourist attraction, so we were treated to local food served by locals! I had no idea what I was doing, but managed to find a vendor who could interpret the menu to me in English. I ended up with a traditional dish of meatball, potato salad and green sauce (a Frankfurt speciality involving a mix of herbs and sour cream). It didn’t look overly appetising, hence the absence of a photo! It tasted better than it looked.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Part of the memorial at the Jewish cemetery. The rocks are a Jewish tradition, as they are more permanent than flowers.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The Frankfurt stock exchange. Frankfurt is the financial capital of Germany (or something like that).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Frankfurt is also highly multicultural, so much so that they sport an Australian cuisine restaurant. What the hell do they serve? Vegemite sandwiches and tim tams? Apparently everyone associates Fosters beer with Australia, even though I don’t know anyone who actually drinks that stuff.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe opera house in Frankfurt.

After the tour I returned to my hostel to remove my shoes and collapse, and took it easy for the rest of the afternoon. I’m not sure if it is the time difference, the noise of the hostel, or both but I am experiencing insomnia something shocking. Not fun when I went to make as much as I can out of my short time in all my stops. I’ll get there! Hope all is well in Aussie land.

– Reanna.

 

Leave a Reply

