PROST! // Munich, Germany

I’ll miss you Munich! Even in my short time in this city I was completely won over by the beauty and character of this place. Either that, or it was just because it was my first taste of Europe!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThis is a quick snapshot of the quaint little neighbourhood I stayed in with my host from AirBNB. It was the first time I have used the service and it was fantastic! My host was wonderful is providing me with some advice when heading out for my day of exploring.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After a leisurely start to the morning on Tuesday  I headed back to Marienplatz to scope out a sight seeing tour of some sort. The stars somehow aligned and I rocked up to Mikes Bikes 15 minutes before the start of their classic bike tour. I scored a ticket for the backpackers rate of 19 euros, and it was well worth it! One of our first stops was the Residenz, home to the royalty of Munich.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Our tour guide was entertaining and informative, taking us for a (very) leisurely ride of Munich’s main sites. Fitness was not an issue for the tour, thanks to the flatness of the city – we went up a grand total of one hill. This is the interior of the Theatine Church.

I was surprised to learn that even though much of Munich looks completely original and old, a large amount of it is actually replica buildings. Many buildings were destroyed during WWII, but due to genius town planning and a desire to keep Munich the way it always was, these buildings were constructed in line with their original glory.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Well, sometimes they did have to skimp out. Painted castle walls, anyone?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESI had almost forgotten about the darker history of Germany. If you look at the bottom of the above picture, you can see the top of a cube behind the hedge. That is the largest war memorial in Munich. War is not something remembered with the same valour at it is back home.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Our lunch stop was in the beautiful English Gardens at the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower) beer garden. The ominous clouds in the sky meant that the beer garden was nowhere near it’s 8,000 people capacity.

My love of vegetables is sure going to take a hit while I’m in Germany! Traditional Bavarian food includes sausages, schnitzel, half chickens and fish on a stick, with sides of pretzels and bread. And of course, beer. But hey, I’m on holidays!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Canal surfing, just because that’s totally not random.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOne of the few symbols of Nazi Germany left in Munich: the eagles atop this government building.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThe spectacular Isar river. Two seconds after I took this photo an incredibly tanned old man got in the nude and started washing himself.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOur ultra groovy bikes. I am still not used to being on the right side of the road!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

After the tour I made a quick trip out to Schloss Nymphenburg, a spectacular castle. I felt like I was in a fairytale.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESThen it was back to Munich for a beer and food tour by Radius Tours. Any tour that starts with the guide pulling beers out of his pockets for us to drink on our way to a museum has two thumbs up from me (no open bottle laws here!).

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWe began our tours at the Bier and Oktoberfest Museum. Munich has such an insane history of beer, they even worship this beer chest. Did you know monks in Munich began the brewing of beer to feed the homeless?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter trying a variety of beers we went and had a Bavarian dinner at the Hofbrau brewhouse, then headed off the the infamous Hofbrauhaus itself. And yes, that involved mass (1 litre) beers.

Yesterday was spent running around, getting lost and missing my bus to Frankfurt. I eventually pulled everything together, and I got here!

– Reanna.

 

2 thoughts on “PROST! // Munich, Germany

Leave a Reply

